Skip to content

Badger Band Director, Mike Leckrone to receive the 2019 Red Smith Award

The Red Smith Committee is proud to announce that Dr. Michael Leckrone, the Director of Bands at the University of Wisconsin is the winner of the 2019 Red Smith Award.  All Badger fans have come to love the man who has led the Badger band for the last 50 years.  His flamboyant and irrepressible style has made the band’s performances a highlight for students, alumni and fans throughout the State.

Mike Leckrone joins a long list of prominent figures in Wisconsin history who have been recognized in the 54 years of the Red Smith Banquet. Other Badger greats who have received previous Red Smith Awards include:

1997 Pat Richter

2002 Dick Bennett

2006 Barry Alvarez

2009 Mark Johnson

2011 Ron Dayne

2014 Ed Nuttycombe

2015 Al Toon

2018 Mark Tauscherer

This year’s award will be presented on January 15, 2019 at the Red Lion Paper Valley Hotel at 6:30 p.m.  Tickets are still available through the web site at: